2 | December 2023 THE RADON REPORTER | 3 ASSOCIATION NEWS Indoor Environments Association™ is a nonprofit, professional organization of members who are dedicated to the highest standard of excellence and ethical performance of hazard identification and abatement of radon, chemical vapor intrusion, and other contaminants of concern in the built environment. The organization primarily strives to advance the interests of its members through developing industry standards, certifying technical proficiency, enabling advancement of public policy, and communicating health risks to the public. OFFICERS PRESIDENT: Kyle Hoylman PRESIDENT-ELECT: Dave Hill VICE PRESIDENT: George Schambach SECRETARY: Jan Fisher TREASURER: Dan Potter NATIONALLY ELECTED DIRECTORS Lila M. Beckley, PG / Nate Burden, Jr. / Aaron Fisher / Aaron Friedrich / Zan Jones / Terry Kerwin / John Mallon / Kevin Stewart / Dawn Oggier / Duane West / CHAPTER COUNCIL ELECTED DIRECTORS Shad Evans / Phil McDonnell / STAFF Symposium Manager and Member Services Nicole Chazaud / IT Manager, Software Developer Mike DeVaynes / NRPP Credentialing Manager Christina Johnson / National Policy Director Jane Malone / Director of Proficiency Amy Roedl / Finance Director Andika Susanti / Executive Director Diane Swecker / Membership Coordinator Holly Tabano / Quality Assurance Manager Rebecca Turek / TABLE of CONTENTS AD INDEX Copyright © 2024 American Association of Radon Scientists & Technologists. All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part of any text, photograph, or graphic without written permission from the publisher is strictly prohibited. Please submit content, comments, or questions t o . 4 2023 Industry Survey Results 8 Chapter Corner 10 National Radon Action Month 12 Annual Leadership Awards 16 Certification Spotlight 18 Radon in Concrete 22 Symposium in Review 26 BOD Election Results 28 AARST Foundation Boots & Bling Gala 29 2024 Membership Campaign 7 RadonAway 9 Fantech 17 Accustar 17 Call for Abstracts - Indoor Environments 2024™ Symposium 19 Spruce Training 21 CERTI 24 PDS Radon Supply Happy New Year, and welcome to the next generation of your industry association – the Indoor Environments Association! As we move forward into the new year, I want to thank our board members, IEA staff members, and countless others (you know who you are!) who have played a role in positioning our association for future growth and sustainability. Because of your efforts, our association is well positioned to thrive in 2024 and beyond. During the inaugural Indoor Environments™ – Radon and Vapor Intrusion Symposium , which was held in Nashville, TN in late October of this past year, you elected the following members to serve or our board in leading our association into the new year: • David Hill (President-Elect) • David Gillay (Vice President) • Jan Fisher (Secretary) • Dan Potter (Treasurer) • Nathaniel Burden (Director) • Zan Jones (Director) • Terry Kerwin (Director) • John Mallon (Director) • Kevin Stewart (Director) Please join me in congratulating our new board members, as well as thanking the following members stepping down from their service on our board: Dawn Goard; Dave Kapturowski; Eric Lewandowski; and, Jim Emanuels. I want to extend a special thank you to Dave Kapturowski, who has served continuously on our board since its inception many moons ago – thank you, Dave. As I move into my final year as your president, I look forward to continuing to lead the execution of our strategic plan. We have accomplished many of the initiatives detailed within our plan over the past few years, but we have much more to achieve. Although we’ve freshened our brand to better align with the future of our association, the same pillars serve as our foundation: As always, our work is guided by the core principle of protecting the occupants of buildings from exposure to contaminants of concern within the built environment. As a member of our association, I encourage you to join our efforts by becoming active in your chapter or volunteering to join one of our national committees. Let’s make 2024 our most positive and productive year yet! Letter from the President Kyle Hoylman INDOOR ENVIRONMENTS ASSOCIATION Four Pillars Photo Credits: Front Cover: Shutterstock Alexey Laputin Back Cover: Shutterstock Alexander Supertramp Symposium Photos: William Carmichael, Nicole Chazaud, Amanda Lacklen, Curt Lerner, Jennifer Long, Zan Jones, Vickie Masa, Jane Malone, Jackie Nixon, Daisy Rezende, Thomas Selgrade, Andika Susanti