Hendersonville, NC

As a leading voice for industry progress, AARST is led by a standout group of industry leaders. The AARST election process begins with the Nominating Committee’s call this month for nominations to be submitted by the end of June. The election will be conducted during October with results announced at the Annual Meeting on October 31 in Nashville. Positions open for election are Nationally Elected Directors (five), President-Elect, Vice-President (1), Secretary, and Treasurer.

Path to Becoming a Nationally Elected AARST Board Member

Those eligible to run for the Nationally Elected Board need to be members in good standing of the Association. Officers and Nationally Elected Directors shall be elected by the membership of the Association through a secure, independent internet balloting service. For each Officer position, the winner shall be the candidate for that office receiving the largest number of votes. For the positions of Nationally Elected Directors, winners shall be those having the largest number of votes among the candidates, as shall be enough to fill the number of open seats for said Directors. A recent bylaw change limits the composition of the Board to no more than two Directors and no more than one Officer from a single company or organization of common ownership or other closely related companies.

The results of the election shall be tabulated 24 hours prior to the Annual Meeting and announced at the Annual Meeting of the Association. In the event of a tie, the sitting Board will cast a tie-breaking vote consisting of a quorum of the Board.

Board Terms

As per the bylaws 4.03 regarding Terms of Directors, Nationally Elected Directors shall hold office for a term of two years. A Nationally Elected Director may serve a maximum of three consecutive terms plus the unexpired term of a previous Director.

As per the bylaws 5.06 regarding Terms of Officers, Officers serve for a term of two years or until their successors are elected.  A President-elect shall be elected every other year for a one-year term and afterward shall serve as President for two years.  The outgoing President shall become the Immediate Past President, and shall serve as an Officer, for a term of one year. Except for the President, President-elect and Immediate Past President, an Officer may serve a maximum of three consecutive terms plus the unexpired term of a previous Officer.

How to Apply?

Those interested please contact nominations@aarst.org to receive an AARST Board Member Nominating Profile submission form. Please submit the completed form no later than June 30. For more information please see the AARST SOP Nominations and Elections.

– George Schambach, Chair, Nominating Committee nominations@aarst.org